BJP legislature party meet today in Bengaluru to pick Yediyurappa’s successor | India News


NEW DELHI: BS Yediyurappa‘s successor is likely to be known today itself.
The BJP legislature party in Karnataka will meet at 7pm in Bengaluru today, after which the name of the next chief minister is likely to be announced.
Union ministers G Kishen Reddy and Dharmendra Pradhan will be present as observers in the meeting.
Yediyurappa resigned as chief minister on Monday, ending long speculations about a change of leadership in Karnataka. Just days back, he made a trip to Delhi, during which he met PM Modi and also top BJP leadership.
He had then skirted questions on his resignation, saying it is up to the party central leadership to take a decision.
However the suspense ended on July 26, the day his government completed two years in office. Yediyurappa made announced his resignation at an event to mark the occasion.
Soon after, he drove to meet governor Thawar Chand Gehlot and submitted his resignation.
Several names are in the reckoning for taking over the mantle from the Lingayat leader.
Among them are Vishveshwara Hegde Kageri, Basanagouda Patil Yatnal, Murugesh Nirani, Arvind Bellad, CT Ravi and Pralhad Joshi.

Yediyurappa was appointed Karnataka chief minister four times, but ironically, could not complete a whole term even once.
He is believed to have been ‘retired’ from the CM post due to his advanced age. However given his stature as a leader of the powerful Lingayat community, Yediyurappa is expected to remain in active politics.


Source link